Overview of 2012: Leaving Uni

So 2012 was stressful to begin with due to the handing in of my dissertation in January, which then became progressively worse until my final ever hand in on 8th May 2012. The end of University. It’s quite a surreal moment when you realise you are no longer a student and therefore no longer eligible for the 10% discount on the high street you came to depend on. Like most other moments in my life I was pretty emotional, and so determined to hold on to my student label for as long as I could. It is scary how quickly those three years pass you by, mostly because the majority of nights out just become vacant blacked out spaces in your mind from where you’ve either chosen to block out the fact you seriously embarrassed yourself, or because the level of tequila in your blood was too high there was no chance of you ever remembering. Either way you can be sure, there was probably drama, and it was probably an amazing night. That’s the way I choose to look at it anyway.

A lot of people will question going to University now, especially with the excruciating rise in tuition fees (don’t get me started) but I can honestly say it is the best thing I ever did. I met some of the most amazing people, made some great friends and learnt a hell of a lot, not just about my course but about myself. It isn’t for everyone but when people look back on their degrees and wonder if they made the right decision going to uni, there are no doubts in my mind. I would do it all over again. All of the fights, the drama, the work, the stress, the crying, the panic, the fainting, the hospital visits, the break downs, the anxiety and the emotional turmoil it ultimately brings, all worth it because I just had the greatest time!

Something that does amuse me (and some of my old housemates) is seeing the transition in appearance from when we started as 19 year old freshers, to where we are now. Hilarious given that we were all doing fashion degrees, despite the fact that, especially in my case, we had A LOT to learn about fashion. See for yourself.

blog22

blog3

I like to think it got better.

Leave a Reply

