Happy New Year!!

Happy New Year Everyone! I hope you all had a suitably drunken New Years Eve and are looking forward to what 2013 has in store for us!

So this year I decided to make some new years resolutions that could see me through the year and hopefully make 2013 the best year ever! Like many other bloggers I’m going to share them with you, on the condition that you don’t judge or mock me as some of them may seem ever so slightly ridiculous and unrealistic…

1. GET. A. JOB.

This has been a goal of mine ever since I left University last year, but is yet to happen. I don’t want to give the impression I’ve been sitting around on my backside for the last six months watching re-runs of Friends, because I haven’t. Well, not all the time anyway, for the last two months I’ve been particularly proactive: I began blogging, I search online all day every day for new jobs, opportunities, internships, anything I can possibly do well that is going to help me in this area, and obviously I’ve been interning. But the real aim is to get a job. I just don’t want to settle, I’m 23 and quite frankly, I don’t see why I should have to! So a lovely, well paid job in Fashion PR with some fabulous people who have banter would be perfect, thank you!

IMG_1555

IMG_1554

2. GET FIT.

I realise this resolution is probably mirrored throughout the majority of the human civilisation every January, with excellent intentions to start eating better and going to the gym. I am the same, but the reason I realised this had to become a priority was when it was brought to my attention that my sixty year old Dad is actually fitter than I am. Good god. If that isn’t motivation to hit the gym or go running (haha), then I really don’t know what is. Ideally I would like to look like this:

victorias-secret-deals

Source: http://thewashingtonfancy.com/2011/12/22/hillary-clinton-named-new-victoria-secret-angel/198

But I’m not fussy. Just being able to look at myself in the mirror naked and actually like what I see would be a bonus. I’m not a big fan of the protruding collar bones and rib cages but some abs would be nice.

3. FINALLY DECIDE ON A HAIR COLOUR.

Okay, so I know this sounds like a ridiculous resolution to have but other than blonde, I think my hair has probably been every colour of the rainbow without looking like I work at Cyberdog. I would just like to decide on what works best for me, I can’t seem to make up my mind between my natural hair (tinge of ginge or just full on ginge in the summer) medium-dark brown, which is what it is now, or a red tint which I’ve always been fond of. I’ve dabbled with the idea of dip dye but money is a definite issue, so until resolution number one is solved, it looks like resolution number three will remain unresolved for the time being. FYI I’m not going blonde, it’s not even an option. Brunettes definitely have more fun and I do not have the skin tone for blonde, I’d end up looking like a sick Barbie.

hair

4. OWN A DESIGNER HANDBAG.

Again, this may seem quite superficial and shallow but it’s something I’ve been after for such a long time now, and it would really be the cherry on top of 2013 if I managed to get my grubby little mits on a beautiful bag. Realistically, I’m going for a Mulberry; the craftsmanship of the bags is just stunning and they are just so classic and timeless I feel like I would have it forever. If, however, I suddenly come into a TONNE of money, (maybe I’ll win the lottery one day if I ever decide I have a couple of quid to waste) I would LOVE a Prada tote or…a Birkin. Now I realise the Birkin is a completely unrealistic goal but these are my resolutions and I’m allowed to dream, right?

bags

Sources: prada.com, talktomyshoes.wordpress.com, kegone.com/mulberry-alexa-bags

5. GO ON AN AMAZING TRIP TO SOMEWHERE I’VE NEVER BEEN.

I love holidays. I love the excitement and build up before you go, the preparation, the holiday shopping, the plans, the inevitable girlie shrieks when you get to the airport, the drinking at ridiculous times of day and the stories you come home with, holidays are just great. I’ve been a fair few places in my time, but I’ve never been outside Europe and this year I would love to go beyond the borders of the EU. Ideally, I would love to go to America, New York just seems like the most incredible place and I NEED to explore it. I also really want to sit on the Hollywood sign, although I know you’re not allowed…and if I don’t visit Las Vegas, Miami or Los Angeles this year then I’ll be really disappointed. I’m the only one out of me, my Dad and my brother who hasn’t been to America, as my brother so lovingly reminds me on a frequent basis. In fact he enjoys it so much, this was my present from his school skiing trip there about three years ago…

IMG_1553

IMG_1552

(Translation – “Sarah I have been to the USA and you haven’t. :-)”) Charming.

It’ll be interesting to know how many (if any at all) of these resolutions are fulfilled before the end of the year, don’t let me down 2013!!

xx

Leave a Reply

